ERMC nurse receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Sandy Stallard, registered nurse (RN) at Eaton Rapids Medical Center (ERMC), was presented with the DAISY Lifetime Achievement Award during a surprise ceremony on Wednesday, October 23, 2019. Stallard, who is retiring after 32 years of service to the hospital, is the first recipient of the award.

Fifty of her peers were in attendance at the event, along with officials from District 1 Regional Medical Response Coalition. The award was created to recognize nurses who have devoted their lives to the compassionate care of others. Recipients of this award are nominated for their dedication to nursing through active mentoring, role modeling, advocating for their patients, and promoting the positive image of nursing. They serve as a beacon of inspiration at all stages of their career.

In the nominations, Stallard’s co-workers described her as “calm and collected, a very skilled nurse, and a true joy to work with.” In addition to her nursing duties, Stallard coordinated the emergency preparedness program at Eaton Rapids Medical Center for more than a dozen years.

Stallard is very humble and requested no retirement party. In her acceptance speech, she remarked, “I’ve learned a lot and met a lot of good people along the way. I have decided to stay on as a casual employee so I can stay part of this facility.”

The DAISY Foundation was formed in 1999 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died of complications of the auto-immune disease Idiopathic Thrombocytopenia Purpura (ITP) at the age of 33. This prompted the name of the organization, which is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. During the time Pat was in the hospital, his family was amazed by not only the clinical skill nurses brought to his condition, but by the way they delivered his care. When he died, the family wanted to say thank you to nurses everywhere for what they do for patients and families each day, and they are reaching that goal through the DAISY Foundation.

Photo (left to right): ERMC chief executive officer Timothy Johnson; award recipient Sandy Stallard, RN; medical/surgical manager Scott Piper, RN; and chief operating officer Kris Allen, RN.
Scroll to Top